Looking for a sign

03May07

The Pharisees came and began to argue with him, asking him for a sign from heaven, to test him. And he sighed deeply in his spirit and said, “Why does this generation ask for a sign? Truly I tell you, no sign will be given to this generation.” And he left them, and getting into the boat again, he went across to the other side.
–Mark 8:11-13

Often times when I am faced with an impossible question, before I do anything else, I google the exact words of my predicament into the search box. Uncertain of myself, I find that looking for an external answer buys an indecisive moment. I need a sign from outside, a third perspective, assuring that I am in the right place; and that my search is not futile. I want to know that I am getting closer and not farther away from the place of Truth, from the story of my life writ large.

And yet there will be no sign; none will be given to my generation either.

No Responses Yet to “Looking for a sign”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

