Robert Browning’s “Paracelsus,” Book I.

01May07

Qualling at the mighty range
of secret truths which yearn for birth, I haste
To contemplate undazzled some one truth,
Its bearings and effects alone–at once,
What was a speck expands into a star,
Asking a life to pass exploring thus,
Till I near craze. I go to prove my soul!
I see my way as birds their trackless way.
I shall arrive! What time, what circuit first,
I ask not: but unless God send his hail
Or blinding fireballs, sleet or stifling snow,
In some time, his good time, I shall arrive:
He guides me and the bird. In his good time.

No Responses Yet to “Robert Browning’s “Paracelsus,” Book I.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

