Garrison Keillor’s babble

31Oct06

by Ty Powers

Last week, I came across these provocative words listening to Garrison Keillor’s podcast, “The Writer’s Almanac”.

“I know that it is socially acceptable to write about war as an unmitigated horror, but subjectively, at least, it was not true. And you can feel its pull on men’s memories at the maudlin reunions of war division. They mourn for their dead, but also for war.” Journalist A.J. Liebling, referring to his years as a war correspondent during World War II.

“Cynicism is often the shame-faced product of inexperience.” A.J. Liebling

“Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.” Dwight D. Eisenhower

“I don’t write about victims; they just bore me to death. I prefer to write about somebody who can pick themselves back up and get on with their lives.” Novelist Terry McMillan

“I always wanted to get into politics, but I was never light enough to make the team.” Humorist Art Buchwald

“My father studied real cultures, and I make them up. In a way, it’s the same thing.” Science-fiction novelist Ursula K. Le Guin, whose father was an anthropologist

“The only thing that makes life possible is permanent intolerable uncertainty, not knowing what comes next.” Ursula K. Le Guin

“Songs can move you now, so that you want to hold onto the words, like the hands of children.” Larry Smith, from the poem “What You Realize When Cancer Comes”

“God is dead, and we have killed him.” Philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche

“[My] total inability to grasp what was going on [at my job] made me something of a legend.” British writer P.G. Wodehouse

No Responses Yet to “Garrison Keillor’s babble”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

