Praying with Thomas Merton Again

11Oct06

O Lord and Master of my life, give me
not a spirit of sloth, of despondency, of lust or
of vain talking; but bestow on me thy
servant a spirit of chastity, of humility,
of patience and love. You, O Lord and
King, grant to me to see my own errors
& not to judge my brother, for blessed
art thou unto ages of ages.ˇ

(Popular in C19Russia)
St. Ephrem

“All the essence of Christianity is contained in this prayer.”

Dostoievsky

Pulled from Thomas Merton’s Red Diary.

One Response to “Praying with Thomas Merton Again”


  1. 1 This is faith « Knot Babble

Leave a Reply

